Horseback riding with quick Tortellini and Meatballs you say? ok…

Caribbean Life

Caribbean Life

Skip forward past the summer..a North American summer that is being July & August…Here we are, at the end of August. It’s the end of August already?  but it’s still summer to me. I need to respect mother natures set seasons.  Even when the sun shines in December as we lay on the beach, deep down I know its winter because I am Canadian! 🙂

Ok, not really sure how any of the above relates to what I wanted to talk about today..ohh yes, that I have been working on a summer post with beautiful pictures that I just can’t finish..why? because summer just keeps going & going…kinda like me, it just doesn’t stop. 🙂

Ok, i’m back again..Lets talk Horses..yup, i said horses. I love me my animals of course because of my Farm Nonni’s, but horses we never had. The last time i sat on a horse was in my teens. Again, irrelevant..

We have stables here on the island? I always passed them by with no regard. Recently though I became curious, reading about riding etc. So planning went into play and well yesterday it happened.  Myself and ‘Lil D’ (which is my best buddies son) packed up our back packs and did like tourist. We went horseback riding.  ohhh my, is the best I could explain it. Smiles from “‘lil D” , smiles from “ME”. Greatest experience for both of us. We saw our island from a different view. The many animals they house made me feel like a child with my Nonno on the farm. Well, except for the random turtles of course..really, turtles chillin with the bunch? 😉

Chill

Lets all “Chill”

Enough about the animals..we turned into animals after the ride..hungry!! No food prepared at home but we were not eating out so something quick was going to happen.

I try to keep a few quick items on hand in the freezer..viola, my homemade meatballs..store bought  tortellini..fresh veggies in the fridge..I can work with this.

Tortellini

Tortellini

Quickly and I mean quickly a pot of water set to boil…Next, I sliced up 1/2 a pepper, bit of an onion, few mushrooms, fresh garlic and sautéed in olive olive. fresh basil with salt etc was added. oops & also..i freeze tomato paste in ice-cube trays for 911 reasons and today was one of them. added 2 cubes, chicken stock & then added my meatballs. Keep in mind they are uncooked, frozen so they needed a lot of liquid to poach around in. Done, within an hour we ate..

quick lunch

quick lunch

This is how I cook, I don’t follow recipes, I follow the fridge. Food should not be complicated. We should always have good food on hand for those days we go horseback riding 😉

I realized while writing that i need to share my meatball recipe to really relate to this. Coming soon to a kitchen near you! 🙂

Buon Appetito 😉

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Horseback riding with quick Tortellini and Meatballs you say? ok…

  1. On Top Of Spaghetti September 8, 2013 at 2:06 pm Reply

    Yup, I too am a fan of the freezer! Such a great feeling when I can get a good homemade dinner on the table in 15 minutes!

    Also, the name of my blog is based on pasta & meatballs, and my other hobby is horse riding! So I was definitely meant to read this post 🙂

    Like

    • Cucina Amore September 8, 2013 at 2:52 pm Reply

      how perfect, thats hilarious! 😉 Great hobby, wish I could go more often, it truly was relaxing

      Like

  2. Karen August 27, 2013 at 8:45 am Reply

    My freezer is always stocked with goodies like this so that you can enjoy your day and still have something good to eat later. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Honking Goose

something to honk about

Whitbits Kitchen

A Multicultural Food Blog

{ the KA revolution }

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dr. Jen Gunter

Wielding the lasso of truth

good food not much time

A great meal for anyone in no time at all....

Yummy! Mummy Cooks the Books

cooking from the books on my shelf and other stuff too!

Cupcakes & Curries

Recipes & Food Inspirations from a Sunny Island

babypuree

from all natural baby food to all yummy table food

la tana del riccio

..with my own two hands..

The Joy of Cheese

The Place for all things cheese, fromage, and queso

Baking with Gab

Adventures in Baking

The Right Recipe

...for friends, family and fun...

herbsandwich

Herbs for hair and skin. Nutrition and wellbeing.

Ski Boots in the Kitchen

Cooking adventures at high altitude

maren ellingboe

recipe developer, stylist, content creator

tomstablescraps.wordpress.com/

Get the Zest out of life

