Coq Au Vin (O) – Cheers to Julia Child on her birthday..Brandy you say?

chicken after mushrooms added

Yes, I added an “O” . Needed to change-up the traditional French dish into an Italian dish without altering the ingredients and a simple vowel did the trick! šŸ™‚ Just a little funny

So, apparently living on a French island is starting to get under my little “chicken head” skin. (inside joke) Finding myself interested in exploring some of the classic French dishes.

When I hear Coq Au Vin I immediately think about Julia Child. How could you not. This is one of her famous dishes which she featured in her first cook book in 1961 “Mastering the Art of French Cooking”. Ā Ahh Julia, Ā very 1st cooking show I remember watching as a child. It also just so happen to be Julia Childs birthday on the day I prepared the dish, so it was a cheers to Julia and all that she brought to the table!

The traditional dish calls for fresh Thyme which I don’t always have (must start growing). So that was really the only ingredient missing from what I researched. I almost added fresh Rosemary sprigs and I am so happy i didn’t. The Rosemary really would have thrown the flavours off. I also opted out of using any garlic. This is one of the 1st times I cooked without fresh garlic! The temptation was there. Next time I’ll be sure to add fresh thyme. Season the chicken the night before is a must to allow the dry spice to absorb. Some also marinate in wine overnight and I’m pleased i didn’t. You will notice IĀ used cremini mushrooms. Find them to have a firmer texture then a white mushroom and well a tastier mushroom overall.

Cremini Mushrooms

This dish will become one of my regulars. The aroma that day in my kitchen was delectable. The rich deep colour and flavour of the sauce is lip smacking!

Here is my take on the dish. I cut back onĀ Brandy I’d actually used. A close friend who is a great sport when I’m experimenting in the kitchen felt the brandy was a bit much. I don’t even want to admit how much I actually poured in! ooops

Coq Au Vin (O)

4 piece chicken leg & thigh attached – separate & you’ll have 8 pieces of chicken. Remove skin

1/4 cup Lardons

3 medium carrots sliced into coins

1/2 onion – diced

1/4 cup Brandy + 2 tblsp

250 ml Red Wine – i used a Bordeaux

475ml (2 cups) Chicken Stock

Bay Leaves, fresh thyme

salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, dried thyme

butter – as much as you need šŸ˜‰

10 Cremini mushrooms or white – quartered

1 tblsp Flour

The night before:

I take the skin off the chicken because you don’t want all that grease floating around in this dish.

Season the cleaned chicken with all the dry spices. Rub it in nicely. Break up a few Bay leaves and place on the chicken. Cover and refrigerate over night.

Next day:

Start with a large pot, sautƩ the lardons until cooked but not crisp. Remove from the pot & set aside.

Take your seasoned chicken & sear all sides. About 8 min. Remove from the pot & set aside.

seared chicken

Add diced onions, carrot coins and a bay leaf. Butter will be required at this point if the lardons & chicken did not release enough juices. Saute until tender. Ā Deglaze the pot now by adding aprx 1/4 cup brandy. This should be sufficient. Add the cooked lardons & chicken back to the pot. Add the red wine, chicken stock & fresh thyme. Simmer covered and allow to slowly braise for aprx 30-40 mins.

While the chicken is floating around in all that booze, take a small pan with 1 tblsp butter. Add the quartered mushrooms and reserved 2 tblsp of brandy. Ā Use even less if you prefer. Fry just until slightly tender.

After the 30 mins of cooking, add the sautĆ©ed mushrooms to the pot. Continue cooking uncovered for another 10mins. At this point I also added a small bit of roux to the sauce to thicken it. I used aprx 1 tblsp of both butter and flour. Melt theĀ butter. stir in the flour and add it to chicken. This should thicken slightly.

To serve, well It could be served with rice, mashed potatoes or I did something different. I served it with Chow Mein noodles. I’m addicted to a particular brand of these noodles here. I know the combination sounds odd but it was a nice change to plain ‘ol rice.

If you’ve never ventured into the past with classic dishes, I urge you to try this one.

Coq Au Vin

Coq Au Vin

Bon appetitĀ (O)

šŸ˜‰

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Coq Au Vin (O) – Cheers to Julia Child on her birthday..Brandy you say?

  1. Cucina Amore August 18, 2013 at 11:22 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Cucina Amore Adventures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Honking Goose

something to honk about

Whitbits Kitchen

A Multicultural Food Blog

{ the KA revolution }

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dr. Jen Gunter

Wielding the lasso of truth

good food not much time

A great meal for anyone in no time at all....

Yummy! Mummy Cooks the Books

cooking from the books on my shelf and other stuff too!

Cupcakes & Curries

Recipes & Food Inspirations from a Sunny Island

babypuree

from all natural baby food to all yummy table food

la tana del riccio

..with my own two hands..

The Joy of Cheese

The Place for all things cheese, fromage, and queso

Baking with Gab

Adventures in Baking

The Right Recipe

...for friends, family and fun...

herbsandwich

Herbs for hair and skin. Nutrition and wellbeing.

Ski Boots in the Kitchen

Cooking adventures at high altitude

maren ellingboe

recipe developer, stylist, content creator

tomstablescraps.wordpress.com/

Get the Zest out of life

