Boot shaped pancakes rounded’up to perfection. No excuse for store bought

DSC_9240

pancakes

Ask any Nonna (an Italian grandmother) to say “Pancakes” and they will almost all repeat “Panacakes”. Addition of that unnecessary vowel makes the word understandable to them. lol lol  My city Nonna never made and I dont believe ever ate a pancake. The closest I could compare anything she made that resembled the texture would be a fritter of some sort using the same basic ingredients but using more flour making a thicker batter, savoury then deep-fried. hmmm, well like I said there were no pancakes there. 😉  Farming Nonna would make us “panacakes” quite often. As I grew older with my hands in the kitchen I started to question why they were never round like i would see in restaurants. Honestly i’m still not sure why they were always so odd-shaped. Now that i think about it, my mothers pancakes were never round either. Both always tasty with at times bananas, apples or chocolate chips added. Just never round.  Possible reason was the batter was more on the thicker side. Italian style I guess, shaped like a boot! ha ha  Any who I’m not going to hurt my head over boot shaped pancakes now, all i can do is round them up myself.

Posting this easy recipe for a few reasons, 1st off I truly enjoy pancakes. One of my comfort foods. The fluffier the better. Secondly I’ve noticed friends here always mixing up the famous box of pre mixed preservatives. Not to knock her or anything, heck, her face is on a box on grocery shelves and the freezer section…eewl I call those frisbees.

Unless you don’t keep flour in the house you truly have no excuse to buy pre made.  Mix up the batter the night before and let it rest in the refrigerate overnight. Even just a few hours is fine. I’ve been out of milk at times and used almond milk, coconut milk, rice milk and always work just the same.

Canadian Maple syrup

Maple Syrup my Daddio sends to me

My perfect breakfast plate consists of pancakes spread with peanut butter, drizzled with REAL maple syrup, scrambled eggs on the side with bacon & sausage. ohh when the Maple syrup slowly creeps its way all over the dish giving everything a hint of sweetness is delightful. Whats yours?

 

Pancake Batter

1 cup AP Flour

2 tblsp Sugar

2 tsp baking powder

cinnamon

pinch of salt if using sweet butter

1 cup Milk

1 Egg

2 tblsp butter melted & cooled

1 1/2 tsp vanilla or almond extract

In a small bowl stir together Flour, sugar, baking powder.  In a larger bowl whisk the Milk, Egg, cooled Butter, vanilla extract until combined. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients whisking gently until all incorporated. Sprinkle cinnamon to taste if desired.  Place in a plastic container and refrigerate overnight.

Next morning breakfast couldn’t be simpler.. heat your pan, I always use my 8 inch pan to make perfect rounds. Add a pat of butter and desired amount of batter depending on the size of pancake you’d like. Allow to cook on medium heat until these beautiful bubble holes begin to appear.

pancake

Once the pancake is full it’s time to flip. Please don’t flatten your pancake with a spatula. I’ve seen people do that. A perfect fluffy pancake needs to work its magic!

Of course i rarely make them without adding something! Bananas, coconut, diced apples, blueberries, choco chips..the list is endless, use your imagination.

Buon Appetito! 😉

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

The Honking Goose

something to honk about

Whitbits Kitchen

A Multicultural Food Blog

{ the KA revolution }

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dr. Jen Gunter

Wielding the lasso of truth

good food not much time

A great meal for anyone in no time at all....

Yummy! Mummy Cooks the Books

cooking from the books on my shelf and other stuff too!

Cupcakes & Curries

Recipes & Food Inspirations from a Sunny Island

babypuree

from all natural baby food to all yummy table food

la tana del riccio

..with my own two hands..

The Joy of Cheese

The Place for all things cheese, fromage, and queso

Baking with Gab

Adventures in Baking

The Right Recipe

...for friends, family and fun...

herbsandwich

Herbs for hair and skin. Nutrition and wellbeing.

Ski Boots in the Kitchen

Cooking adventures at high altitude

maren ellingboe

recipe developer, stylist, content creator

tomstablescraps.wordpress.com/

Get the Zest out of life

