I go Bananas for Bananas!

Banana Figs from the market

Banana Figs from the local market

Doesnt everyone? Love Bananas that is. A fruit that is available all year round no matter where you are from. Buy them green and let them ripen, buy them ripe and use in your favorite recipe. I tend to always have bananas in the house. Stir them into pancake batter, banana bread, smoothies, fry in butter or my personal favorite a peanut butter, honey & banana sandwich drizzled with Nutella..oh yum! picture to follow..

ready for baking!

ready for baking!

A few years back I discovered Saba. I floated over on a boat to the island of Saba and hiked through the rain forest up 1064 steps of Mt Scenery

Hiking up the rain forest on Saba

Hiking up the rain forest on Saba

Along the way with my camera on hand, I encountered my 1st real banana tree. Understand growing up in Canada that buying bananas from a grocery store is nothing compared to this. Wow, i was in awwww & I still am.

the bundle i found hiking up Mt Scenery on Saba

the bundle i found hiking up Mt Scenery on Saba

Back to my kitchen…As i was visiting a friend this past weekend who needed cheering up i figured what a perfect snack to bring but a Banana Chocolate Chip loaf. On my comfort food list.

DSC_0937

So I was on my way heading out with my loaf in hand to my parking lot, walked down a different path and found this beauty. uggggg, no camera of course!

Judging by the fruit size, I believe this is actually a Plantain tree

Beautiful

So this morning I was out with my camera snapping pictures. I’ll be keeping my eyes on them as they ripen.  Judging by the size, they may actually be plantains. Regardless I will eat. A step stool will be required for capture! 🙂

The recipe I’m finally sharing was given to me by a cousin when I was younger just starting up in my parents kitchen. Back when my mom would remind me over and over that it was HER kitchen..ok women! lol lol

This was the first banana loaf I had made. I have never needed to venture off to try a different recipe.  Moist, packed with flavour with basic ingredients that are always on hand. Why fix whats not broken?

Banana Bread

275 gram (1 ½ cup) Brown Sugar

125 gram (1/2 cup) softened Butter

2 Eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 Ripe Bananas

235 gram (1 ½ cup) AP Flour

1 tsp Baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

hand full of chocolate chips

Combine all dry ingredients except chocolate chips in a small bowl & set aside.

In a large bowl or stand mixer beat brown sugar & butter until fluffy. About 2 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla extract. Continue beating for a minute or until all is combined.  Finally add the bananas, i add them whole and then beat slightly. Makes for chunkier pieces.

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir until combined. Do not beat.

Finally Stir in the chocolate chips.

DSC_0926

Divide into prepared greased loaf tin or muffin tin.

DSC_0928

bake at 180 C until golden or inserted toothpick comes out clean

DSC_0939

Variations:

Zest…lemon or orange zest go so well if you have citrus kicking around

Nuts..enough said!

Pineapple, stir in pineapple but scale back on the bananas

Coconut, but of course..no need to scale back on anything..just stir it in.

I promise you that another Banana bread recipe is not required!

Buon Appetito! 😉

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The Honking Goose

something to honk about

Whitbits Kitchen

A Multicultural Food Blog

{ the KA revolution }

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dr. Jen Gunter

Wielding the lasso of truth

good food not much time

A great meal for anyone in no time at all....

Yummy! Mummy Cooks the Books

cooking from the books on my shelf and other stuff too!

Cupcakes & Curries

Recipes & Food Inspirations from a Sunny Island

babypuree

from all natural baby food to all yummy table food

la tana del riccio

..with my own two hands..

The Joy of Cheese

The Place for all things cheese, fromage, and queso

Baking with Gab

Adventures in Baking

The Right Recipe

...for friends, family and fun...

herbsandwich

Herbs for hair and skin. Nutrition and wellbeing.

Ski Boots in the Kitchen

Cooking adventures at high altitude

maren ellingboe

recipe developer, stylist, content creator

tomstablescraps.wordpress.com/

Get the Zest out of life

